About the AMCC


The AMCC is an alliance of NCAA Division III institutions whose mission is to provide our students with an intercollegiate athletics program that advances their educational experience in a way that is safe, equitable, respectful, rewarding and balanced.
 A. The conference upholds the principle that in each institution the President shall control all phases of the administration of intercollegiate athletics.
 B. The intercollegiate athletics program must be in harmony and consistent with the essential educational mission of the institution.
 C. The conference shall provide equitable intercollegiate athletics opportunities for males and females and equally emphasize men and women's sports.
 D. The conference shall provide equitable competitive opportunities across sports. The regular season emphasis shall be on participation opportunity and the post-season championships and season-ending tournaments shall emphasize higher achievement during the regular season.
 E. The AMCC intercollegiate athletics program should promote mutual confidence and cooperation among the member institutions for the purpose of assuring maximum educational benefit from athletics.
 F. The practice and promotion of good sportsmanship and ethical conduct by all members of the AMCC community (i.e., staff, student-athletes, coaches, and spectators) shall be of paramount importance.
 G. NCAA Division III philosophy and rules are applicable in all circumstances.


The Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference was initially formed by a group of six colleges and universities, under the leadership of the founding president, Dr. Richard McDowell, President of the University of Pittsburgh at Bradford. The conference incorporated as a 501(C)3 organization in 1997 and play began in the 1997-98 academic year for men’s and women's sports. The conference is comprised of ten members located in Western Pennsylvania, Western New York and Eastern Ohio, and include both private and public institutions. All are required to be active or provisional members of NCAA Division III.

 Charter Members
 La Roche College (now University) - Pittsburgh, PA
 Pennsylvania State University at Erie, the Behrend College -
 Erie, PA

 University of Pittsburgh at Bradford - Bradford, PA
 University of Pittsburgh at Greensburg - Greensburg, PA
 Frostburg State University - Frostburg, MD (withdrew 6/30/10)
 Lake Erie College - Painesville, OH (withdrew 6/30/08)
 Subsequent Members

 Pennsylvania State University at Altoona - Altoona, PA (1998)
 Hilbert College – Hamburg, NY (2005)
 Medaille College – Buffalo, NY (2005)
 Mount Aloysius College – Cresson, PA (2006)
 Franciscan University – Steubenville, OH (2008, withdrew 2020)
 D’Youville College – Buffalo, NY (2009, withdrew 2020)

 Alfred State College - Alfred, NY (2019)

Sport Sponsorship

Championships are awarded in 16 sports:

Baseball *
Men's and Women's Basketball *
Women's Bowling*
Men's and Women's Cross Country
Men's Golf *
Men's and Women's Soccer *
Softball *
Men's and Women's Swimming and Diving
Men's and Women's Tennis *
Men's Volleyball *
Women's Volleyball *

* Sports in which the AMCC receives an automatic bid to the NCAA tournament

Affiliate Members

Swimming & Diving
- SUNY Delhi, Wells College
Men's Volleyball
- Hiram College, Geneva College, Saint Vincent College, Thiel College
Women's Bowling
- New Jersey City University, Saint Vincent College